Current restrictions levels retained

“More substantial review” of allocations expected next week

Scottish Parliament
THERE will be no change to the level of coronavirus restrictions levels in place across Scotland this week, with a “more substantial” review expected next week, the first minister has stated.

Speaking in the Scottish Parliament today (December 1), Nicola Sturgeon said that, although the government is “encouraged by the impact current restrictions have had,” each local authority area will remain in its current level of restrictions for the time being.

Eleven local authority areas in the central belt are currently under level four restrictions, which are due to expire on December 11. The first minister will announce on Tuesday, December 8 which levels those areas will be placed into.

And Sturgeon said that “as we decide the levels each of these areas will go into we will have an opportunity at next week’s review to look at the allocation of levels across the country more generally”.

“And I would flag up right now that it is likely, therefore, that next week’s review will be more substantial than today’s,” said the first minister.

Cases of coronavirus in both Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire were said to have “increased quite sharply in the past week”, and Sturgeon said data on infection rates in both areas – which are currently in level two – is being “considered in more depth” before a decision is made on whether to move those areas into level three.

Conversely, Dumfries & Galloway is being held in level two despite low infection levels because it is bordered by areas with higher infection rates.

Sturgeon said: “The data there (in Dumfries & Galloway) is indicative of a move to level one soon. However the concern right now – in addition to general winter factors which we are considering across the country – is that Dumfries & Galloway is bordered by areas with quite significantly higher levels of infection. And that is why the strong public health advice which this morning the cabinet has accepted, is for it to remain in level two for now.”

Eleven local authority areas are currently under level four restrictions, meaning all hospitality venues are closed. These are Glasgow City, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire, East Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire, North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, East Ayrshire, South Ayrshire, Stirling, and West Lothian.

Ten council areas are under level three restrictions: City of Edinburgh, Clackmannanshire, Falkirk, Inverclyde, North Ayrshire, Dundee, Fife, Perth & Kinross, Angus and Midlothian.

Aberdeen City, Aberdeenshire, Borders, Dumfries & Galloway, East Lothian and Argyll & Bute are in level two.

Orkney, Shetland, Western Isles, Moray and Highland are in level one.