COVID restrictions levels revealed

No areas in highest or lowest tiers and much of central belt in level three

Nicola Sturgeon asks people not to travel to other areas in Scotland or the rest of the UK with high levels of the virus unless it is essential

PREMISES in the Highland, Moray, Western Isles, Orkney and Shetland council areas will be able to serve alcohol indoors from Monday (November 2) and stay open until 10.30pm after first minister Nicola Sturgeon today confirmed those areas will be classed as ‘level one’ under the Scottish Government’s strategic framework.

Speaking in the Scottish Parliament today (October 29) Sturgeon said Aberdeenshire, Aberdeen, Fife, Borders, Dumfries & Galloway, Argyll & Bute, Perth & Kinross and Angus will be under level two restrictions from Monday. Under the strategic framework, premises in those areas can serve alcohol indoors “only with a main meal” and must close indoors at 8pm. The sale of alcohol will be permitted in outdoor areas with or without food, and outdoor areas can remain open until 10.30pm.

Level three areas were confirmed as Inverclyde, East Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire, East Renfrewshire, Renfrewshire, Glasgow, South Ayrshire, East Ayrshire, North Ayrshire, Stirling, Falkirk, Clackmannanshire, Edinburgh, Midlothian, West Lothian, East Lothian, Dundee, North Lanarkshire and South Lanarkshire. Level three restrictions mean premises cannot serve alcohol indoors or outdoors.

No areas were put into the highest tier, level four, under which hospitality venues will be required to close; or the lowest tier, level zero.

Sturgeon said the levels for each council area will be reviewed weekly, with the next review slated for November 10 and any changes implemented from November 13. North and South Lanarkshire will be reviewed on a daily basis, she said, as it was a “borderline decision” to classify both areas as level three, rather than four.

Sturgeon also asked people who live in level three areas not to travel outside that council area “unless you require to do so for essential reasons”; and those in a level one or two local authority area not to travel into a level three area except for essential purposes.

“Similarly people – wherever they live – should not travel between Scotland and areas in the rest of the UK with high levels of the virus unless it is essential,” she said.

The levels are as follows:

Level Four

No council area

Level Three


East Dunbartonshire

West Dunbartonshire

East Renfrewshire



South Ayrshire

East Ayrshire

North Ayrshire






West Lothian

East Lothian


North Lanarkshire

South Lanarkshire

Level Two





Dumfries & Galloway

Argyll & Bute

Perth & Kinross


Level One



Western Isles



Level Zero

No council area