Hospitality guidance updated as level changes and ‘travel ban’ kick in

Premises in parts of west central Scotland to close for three weeks from 6pm tonight as 11 council areas move into level four


THE Scottish Government has updated its hospitality sector guidance as the ‘travel ban’ kicks in and 11 council areas in west central Scotland move into level four restrictions from 6pm tonight (Friday November 20).

The government updated its FAQs for tourism and hospitality businesses

( today ahead of the changes kicking in.

From 6pm tonight (Friday November 20), 11 council areas – Glasgow City, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire, East Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire, North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, East Ayrshire, South Ayrshire, Stirling, and West Lothian – will be moved into level four until December 11, meaning all hospitality businesses in those areas will have to close for three weeks.

Nine council areas – City of Edinburgh, Clackmannanshire, Falkirk, Inverclyde, North Ayrshire, Dundee, Fife, Perth & Kinross and Angus – will remain under level three restrictions. East Lothian and Midlothian will move from level three to two from Tuesday November 24; and Aberdeen City, Aberdeenshire, Borders, Dumfries & Galloway, and Argyll & Bute will all remain at level two. Orkney, Shetland, Western Isles, Moray and Highland are to remain at level one.

Travel restrictions also become law from 6pm tonight (Friday November 20), making it illegal for anyone in level three or four areas to travel outside of their council area, other than for essential purposes.