Rural drinks firms in the spotlight

Producers from across Scotland shortlisted for awards

Zara and Angus Gordon Lennox
Gordon Castle, run by Zara and Angus Gordon Lennox, is one of four distilleries shortlisted.

SMALL-batch drinks producers from across the country are in the running for accolades at this year’s Scottish Rural Awards.

Four distillers have been shortlisted across multiple categories: Gordon Castle in Fochabers, Kirkwall-based Orkney Distilling, Wild Thyme Spirits on the Isle of Colonsay and the GlenWyvis Distillery in Dingwall are all in the running for trophies from the scheme, which recognises businesses, organisations and individuals working in rural Scotland.

Gordon Castle, which is run by husband and wife team Angus and Zara Gordon Lennox and produces Gordon Castle Gin using botanicals from the castle’s Victorian walled garden, leads the list as a finalist in four categories: Artisan Drink, Business Start Up, Rural Employer and Rural Enterprise and Innovation.

Angus said: “We are completely delighted to have been shortlisted in not one but four categories.

“Here’s to the future as we strive for world-wide recognition for our products and brand.”

Orkney Distilling, which produces Kirkjuvagr Gin, and Colonsay-based Wild Thyme Spirits, producer of Colonsay Gin, have also been named as finalists in the Artisan Drink and Business Start Up categories, while the GlenWyvis Distillery, which is owned by the local community, has been shortlisted in the Business Start Up, Rural Enterprise and Innovation categories.

Other drinks producers shortlisted in the Artisan Drink category include Isle of Harris Distillers; Kirkwall-based Deerness Distillery; Dalrannoch Brewing Co in Crieff; the East Lothian-based producers of Aelder Elixir liqueur; Ben Nevis Distillery in Fort William; Campbeltown-based Beinn an Tuirc Distillers, which produces Kintyre Gin; and the Elgin-based producer of Avva Gin, Moray Distillery.

Now in its fourth year, the Scottish Rural Awards celebrates the enterprise, dedication and community spirt of those in rural Scotland.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in Dynamic Earth, Edinburgh, on March 22.