Capital stars as Denise belts out SLTN winners

Edinburgh takes eight gongs and Glasgow six as cities dominate 16th annual Awards

THE finalists lined up from all over the country, but in the end it was all about Scotland’s two biggest cities.
People and venues from Edinburgh and Glasgow dominated the honours list as the 16th SLTN Awards were unveiled by celebrity host Denise Van Outen.
The glamorous star of stage and screen took to the stage at Glasgow’s five-star Hilton Hotel to present a record eight prestigious SLTN corkscrews to capital businesses, in categories ranging from spirits bar and mixologist of the year to the wine and cider awards.
The evening was almost as memorable for the trade in Glasgow, with the city’s outlets and individuals netting an impressive six gongs, including the awards for hotel, music bar, late night venue, barperson, independent pub/bar and licensee of the year.
But the big cities didn’t have it all their own way.
There was success for Fraserburgh bar Cheers, which took the award for best smoking facilities, and Niki’s Lounge in Galashiels, named community bar of the year. The Auchrannie resort on Arran took the gong for family outlet of the year, Scotts in Largs triumphed in the champion of industry category and the social responsibility award went to The George bar in Hamilton.
Three businesses took two awards on the night: Ayrshire operator Buzzworks added the title of independent multiple operator of the year to its champion of industry award for Scotts; the Roseleaf Café in Leith came out on top in the beer quality and pub caterer awards; and Neil Connolly was honoured as licensee of the year after his venue, Moskito in Glasgow, was named independent pub/bar of the year.
The ceremony culminated with the presentation of the Award for Industry Achievement, which this year went to Steve Mallon, the managing director of Maclay Inns.
Mallon, who joined Maclay as finance director, rising to MD in 2001, expressed his surprise in joining the illustrious cast of past winners of the award, which includes Montpeliers’ founder David Wither, former Belhaven boss Stuart Ross, and last year’s winner, Peter Taylor of The Townhouse Collection.
“This is such an amazing honour – I can’t quite believe it,” Mallon said in his acceptance speech.
“I’ve been to this dinner every year since I joined the licensed trade and never thought for a minute that one day I would be standing here accepting this award. But it’s a great feeling and to follow in the footsteps of some great operators and competitors is truly an honour.”
Mallon also gave a brief insight into some of the tactics he has employed as Maclay has steadily grown over the past decade, urging the audience to not “follow the pack”, to “respect your competitors” and to “never accept that things are impossible – remember there is always, always a way!”
Now in their 16th year, the SLTN Awards recognise excellence across Scotland’s diverse hospitality sector.
“We’re living in very challenging and uncertain times, but the Scottish hospitality industry continues to shine,” said SLTN editor Scott Wright.
“Tonight’s winners prove that the licensed trade continues to be fertile ground for dynamism, innovation and commercial success.”
The prize draw raised more than £4000, which will be split between licensed trade charity The Ben and Whizz-Kidz, which provides wheelchairs for disabled children.

Full SLTN Awards 2011 results below :

SLTN Awards 2011 – Winners and highly commended finalists

Spirits Bar of the Year, sponsored by Bacardi Brown-Forman Brands
Winner: 56 North, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: Bond No.9, Edinburgh
Highly Commended: The Torridon, Achnasheen

Community Bar of the Year, sponsored by McEwan’s
Winner: Niki’s Lounge, Galashiels

Highly Commended: The Kimberley Tavern, Glasgow
Highly Commended: The Old Smiddy, Glasgow

Barperson of the Year, sponsored by Britvic Soft Drinks
Winner: Jamie Campbell, Arta, Glasgow

Highly Commended: Marcita Copertino, Boteco do Brasil, Glasgow
Highly Commended: Yvonne McKechnie, The Victoria Bar, Gourock

Beer Quality Award, sponsored by Tennent’s Lager
Winner: The Roseleaf Bar Café, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: The Clockwork Beer Company, Glasgow
Highly Commended: West Bar and Brewery, Glasgow

Late Night Venue of the Year, sponsored by Red Bull
Winner: The Arches, Glasgow

Highly Commended: The Sub Club, Glasgow
Highly Commended: Cabaret Voltaire, Edinburgh

Mixologist of the Year, sponsored by Pernod Ricard and Bar Nomadics
Winner: Andy Thompson, The Rutland, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: Mal Spence, Blythswood Square, Glasgow
Highly Commended: Lisa Tracey, The Corinthian Club, Glasgow

Social Responsibility Award, sponsored by Diageo Great Britain
Winner: The George Bar, Hamilton

Highly Commended: Ayr Racecourse and Western House Hotel, Ayr
Highly Commended: Bond No.9, Edinburgh

Award for Best Smoking Facilities, sponsored by Imperial Tobacco
Winner: Cheers, Fraserburgh

Highly Commended: Elliots, Prestwick
Highly Commended: The Rooftop Terrace at 29, Glasgow

Music Bar of the Year, sponsored by PRS for Music
Winner: Bar Bloc, Glasgow

Highly Commended: The Jazz Bar, Edinburgh
Highly Commended: The Twa Tams, Perth

Wine Award, sponsored by Forth Wines
Winner: Divino Enoteca, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: The Clubhouse Bar and Grill, Gleneagles
Highly Commended: The Ubiquitous Chip, Glasgow

Cider Bar of the Year, sponsored by Bulmers
Winner: Bond No.9, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: The Three Judges, Glasgow
Highly Commended: The Solid Rock Cafe, Glasgow

Hotel of the Year, sponsored by Hallgarten Druitt
Winner: Blythswood Square, Glasgow

Highly Commended: Grand Central Hotel, Glasgow
Highly Commended: Hotel Missoni, Edinburgh

Restaurant of the Year, £35 or over, sponsored by Bunnahabhain
Winner: Castle Terrace, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: Knockinaam Lodge, Portpatrick

Restaurant of the Year, under £35, sponsored by Bunnahabhain
Winner: Wedgwood the Restaurant, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: Two Fat Ladies at The Buttery, Glasgow

Independent Pub or Bar of the Year, sponsored by Kopparberg Cider
Winner: Moskito, Glasgow

Highly Commended: Slouch, Glasgow
Highly Commended: Treacle, Edinburgh

Pub Caterer of the Year, sponsored by Booker
Winner: The Roseleaf Bar Café, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: Lounge, Largs
Highly Commended: Stravaigin, Glasgow

Family Outlet of the Year, sponsored Coca-Cola Enterprises Scotland
Winner: Auchrannie, Arran

Highly Commended: The Cockatoo, Dalkeith
Highly Commended: The Waterside Bistro, Haddington

Licensee of the Year, sponsored by Wallaces Express
Winner: Neil Connolly, Moskito, Glasgow

Highly Commended: Nicola McGuinness, No.2 Baker Street, Stirling
Highly Commended: Alec Trousdale, The Queens Arms, Edinburgh

Champion of Industry, sponsored by Molson Coors
Winner: Scotts, Largs

Highly Commended: The Corinthian Club, Glasgow
Highly Commended: The Rutland, Edinburgh

Independent Multiple Operator of the Year, sponsored by Smirnoff
Winner: Buzzworks Holdings, Prestwick

Highly Commended: Maclay Inns, Alloa
Highly Commended: Vittoria Group, Edinburgh

Industry Achievement, sponsored by Maxxium UK
Winner: Steve Mallon, managing director, Maclay Inns