Denise puts on a capital show

Edinburgh bags a record eight SLTN Awards
and Maclay Inns boss takes Industry Achievement gong

Edinburgh’s licensed trade was on song last Thursday night as West End musical star Denise Van Outen hosted the SLTN Awards in Glasgow.

Capital operators were singing from the rooftops after scooping eight of the 21 prizes up for grabs as Scotland’s leading trade publication toasted the country’s best licensed venues and individuals.

But Edinburgh didn’t have it all its own way: Glasgow took six awards and there were winners from towns all over the country, from Fraserburgh to the Borders.

Three businesses were also celebrating double wins, with Ayrshire operator Buzzworks, the Roseleaf Café in Leith and Glasgow bar Moskito netting two coveted corkscrew

The ceremony culminated with the presentation of the Award for Industry Achievement, which this year went to Steve Mallon (above), the managing director of Maclay Inns.

Now in their 16th year, the SLTN Awards recognise excellence across Scotland’s diverse hospitality sector. This year’s ceremony took place before an audience of 700 trade professionals and their guests at the five-star Hilton Hotel.

“We’re living in very challenging and uncertain times, but the Scottish hospitality industry continues to shine,” said SLTN editor Scott Wright.

“Tonight’s winners prove that the licensed trade continues to be fertile ground for dynamism, innovation and commercial success.”

For more information and pictures, contact SLTN editor Scott Wright on 0141 567 6053;

Full SLTN Awards 2011 results below :

SLTN Awards 2011 – Winners and highly commended finalists

Spirits Bar of the Year, sponsored by Bacardi Brown-Forman Brands
Winner: 56 North, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: Bond No.9, Edinburgh
Highly Commended: The Torridon, Achnasheen

Community Bar of the Year, sponsored by McEwan’s
Winner: Niki’s Lounge, Galashiels

Highly Commended: The Kimberley Tavern, Glasgow
Highly Commended: The Old Smiddy, Glasgow

Barperson of the Year, sponsored by Britvic Soft Drinks
Winner: Jamie Campbell, Arta, Glasgow

Highly Commended: Marcita Copertino, Boteco do Brasil, Glasgow
Highly Commended: Yvonne McKechnie, The Victoria Bar, Gourock

Beer Quality Award, sponsored by Tennent’s Lager
Winner: The Roseleaf Bar Café, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: The Clockwork Beer Company, Glasgow
Highly Commended: West Bar and Brewery, Glasgow

Late Night Venue of the Year, sponsored by Red Bull
Winner: The Arches, Glasgow

Highly Commended: The Sub Club, Glasgow
Highly Commended: Cabaret Voltaire, Edinburgh

Mixologist of the Year, sponsored by Pernod Ricard and Bar Nomadics
Winner: Andy Thompson, The Rutland, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: Mal Spence, Blythswood Square, Glasgow
Highly Commended: Lisa Tracey, The Corinthian Club, Glasgow

Social Responsibility Award, sponsored by Diageo Great Britain
Winner: The George Bar, Hamilton

Highly Commended: Ayr Racecourse and Western House Hotel, Ayr
Highly Commended: Bond No.9, Edinburgh

Award for Best Smoking Facilities, sponsored by Imperial Tobacco
Winner: Cheers, Fraserburgh

Highly Commended: Elliots, Prestwick
Highly Commended: The Rooftop Terrace at 29, Glasgow

Music Bar of the Year, sponsored by PRS for Music
Winner: Bar Bloc, Glasgow

Highly Commended: The Jazz Bar, Edinburgh
Highly Commended: The Twa Tams, Perth

Wine Award, sponsored by Forth Wines
Winner: Divino Enoteca, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: The Clubhouse Bar and Grill, Gleneagles
Highly Commended: The Ubiquitous Chip, Glasgow

Cider Bar of the Year, sponsored by Bulmers
Winner: Bond No.9, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: The Three Judges, Glasgow
Highly Commended: The Solid Rock Cafe, Glasgow

Hotel of the Year, sponsored by Hallgarten Druitt
Winner: Blythswood Square, Glasgow

Highly Commended: Grand Central Hotel, Glasgow
Highly Commended: Hotel Missoni, Edinburgh

Restaurant of the Year, £35 or over, sponsored by Bunnahabhain
Winner: Castle Terrace, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: Knockinaam Lodge, Portpatrick

Restaurant of the Year, under £35, sponsored by Bunnahabhain
Winner: Wedgwood the Restaurant, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: Two Fat Ladies at The Buttery, Glasgow

Independent Pub or Bar of the Year, sponsored by Kopparberg Cider
Winner: Moskito, Glasgow

Highly Commended: Slouch, Glasgow
Highly Commended: Treacle, Edinburgh

Pub Caterer of the Year, sponsored by Booker
Winner: The Roseleaf Bar Café, Edinburgh

Highly Commended: Lounge, Largs
Highly Commended: Stravaigin, Glasgow

Family Outlet of the Year, sponsored Coca-Cola Enterprises Scotland
Winner: Auchrannie, Arran

Highly Commended: The Cockatoo, Dalkeith
Highly Commended: The Waterside Bistro, Haddington

Licensee of the Year, sponsored by Wallaces Express
Winner: Neil Connolly, Moskito, Glasgow

Highly Commended: Nicola McGuinness, No.2 Baker Street, Stirling
Highly Commended: Alec Trousdale, The Queens Arms, Edinburgh

Champion of Industry, sponsored by Molson Coors
Winner: Scotts, Largs

Highly Commended: The Corinthian Club, Glasgow
Highly Commended: The Rutland, Edinburgh

Independent Multiple Operator of the Year, sponsored by Smirnoff
Winner: Buzzworks Holdings, Prestwick

Highly Commended: Maclay Inns, Alloa
Highly Commended: Vittoria Group, Edinburgh

Industry Achievement, sponsored by Maxxium UK
Winner: Steve Mallon, managing director, Maclay Inns